The Long Island Chapter of the SAR was originally founded as the Huntington Chapter SAR on February 5th, 1909.  The names of the Founding Members of the Huntington Chapter SAR are:

                    George H. Bangs                       

                    Henry S. Brush

                    Louis M. Brush

                    Carll S. Burr, Jr.

                    Tunis B. Burr

                    Zerbino J. Carll 

                    Douglass Conklin

                    James H. Conklin

                    Ross W. Downs

                    Ansel B. Gildersleeve

                    Grant E. Hamilton

                    Clifford W. Hendrickson

                    George C. Hendrickson

                    Russell Hurd

                    Thomas E. Irwin

                    E. Stanley Jarvis

                    Percy B. Jarvis

                    George D. Bangs


Frederick M. Munroe

Henry P. Noble

Ebenezer S. Prime

Gilbert Prime

Camillus P. Rogers

Frederick B. Rogers

Herman F. Rogers

Everest Sammis

Theron H. Sammis

Townsend Scudder

Rudolph S. Titus

Gustave DeKay Townsend

Howard S. Velsor

Gentry S. Williams

Charles A. H. Willis

Daniel S. Wood

John F. Wood

W. Wilton Wood, Jr.

 The chapter name was changed to the Long Island Chapter in April 2005 because:

The following men have served as President of the Chapter: 

Douglass Conklin (1909-1912)                                   Stanley A. Ransom (1967-1969)

George D. Bangs (1912-1915)                             Kenneth W. Johnson, Jr. (1969-1971)

Charles A. Willis (1915-1916)                                J. Stewart Hilbert (1971-1972)

Frederick M. Hazzard (1916-1920)                  Reginald H. Metcalf, Jr. (1972-1975)

Hon. Isaac R. Sweeney, Jr. (1920-1923)                Rufus B. Langhans (1975-1977)

John F. Wood, Sr. (1923-1926)                                      John M. Miller (1977-1979)

Lt. Col. H. Stanley Todd (1926-1930)                          Walter R. Kuhn, Jr. (1979-1981)

Ralph A. Lewis, Sr. (1930-1932)                  Hon. Walter A. Saxton (1981-1983)

Reginald H. Metcalf, Sr. (1945-1949)               Rufus B. Langhans (1983-1984)

Dr. Joel K. Skidmore (1949-1951)                            Gordon L. Holcomb (1984-1986)

Theodore S. Prime (1951-1952)                          Albert H. Meyer (1986-1988)

 Ralph A. Lewis, Jr. (1952-1953)                   Charles H. Sullivan, Jr. (1988-1989)

William H. Shay (1953-1955)                                       Henry D. Blachly (1990-1991)

Robert L. Corwin, Esq. (1955-1956)                            Walter R. Kuhn, Jr. (1991-1992)

John W. Ridgeway (1956-1958)                           Hon. Walter A. Saxton (1992-1993)

 Frank H. Johnson (1958-1959)                           James B. Conklin, Jr. (1993-1995)

Constant W. Booth III (1959 - 1961)               Reginald H. Metcalf, Jr. (1995-2002)

 Robert B. Sattley (1961-1963)                                       Desander Mas (2002-2011)

 Frederick Rothe, Jr. (1963-1965)                       Edward A. Burns, Jr. (2011 - 2012)

 Constant W. Booth III (1966-1967)                  Joseph P. Vermaelen (2012 - 2023)

Bryan Irrgang (2023 - Present)